New members of the Board

As previously announced Mistra Urban Futures Board is as of January 1st chaired by Thomas Rosswall. The Board has been complemented with four new members; Katarina Pelin, Thomas Elmqvist, Karl-Gunnar Olsson and Roberto Sanchez-Rodriguez. They join Board members Elizabeth Deakin, Colin Fudge, Katarina Gårdfeldt, Klas Groth, Hans Ristner and Johan Edman.

Katarina Pelin works as CEO at the Municipality of Båstad, located on the west coast of Sweden. Prior to that, Katarina was the Director of Environment at the City of Malmö. Among other things Katarina was one of the experts appointed by the Swedish Government in the National Delegation for Sustainable City Development from 2008 – 2012.

Professor Thomas Elmqvist is a member of the Steering committee for Stockholm Resilience Centre and Professor in Natural Resource Management, Stockholm University, Sweden. Along his long list of achievements Thomas is a Member of the board of World Wildlife Fund, WWF in Sweden.

Karl-Gunnar Olsson is a professor of Architecture and Technology at Chalmers University of Technology in Gothenburg, Sweden and Director for the Area of Advance for the Built Environment, one of eight areas set out to bring together education, research and innovation to successfully contribute to a sustainable future.

The last new member of the Board is Roberto Sanchez-Rodriguez who is a Professor at the Department of Urban and Environmental Studies at El Colegio de la Frontera Norte (the College of the Northern Border), in Tijuana, Mexico. He is also a professor emeritus at the Department of Environmental Sciences, University of California, Riverside.

Read more about the Board
Read the news item announcing the new Chair of the Board professor Thomas Rosswall