Board of Directors 2018-2019

Anna Johansson, Chair, member of the Swedish Parliament and former Minister of Infrastructure. 

Olivia Bina, Principal researcher and Deputy Director at the Institute of Social Sciences at the University of Lisbon, and adjunct assistant professor at the Dept of Geography and Resource Management at the Chinese University in Hong Kong

Benjamin Bradlow, Former Deputy Manager, Secretariat Shack/Slum Dwellers International PhD Candidate, Department of Sociology, Brown University

Thomas Elmqvist, Professor, Theme leader, Urban social-ecological systems and globalization. Stockholm Resilience Centre.

Lyla Mehta, Professorial Research Fellow at the Institute of Development Studies at the University of Sussex, UK, and a Visiting Professor at Noragric, Norwegian University of Life Sciences.

Carl Mossfeldt, Independent advisor and World Fellow at Yale University

John Robinson, Professor at the Munk School of Global Affairs and the School of Environment at the University of Toronto, an Honorary Professor with the Institute for Resources, Environment & Sustainability at the University of British Columbia, and an Adjunct Professor with the Copenhagen Business School.

Caroline Wanjiku Kihato, Visiting Associate Professor at the Graduate School of Architecture at the University of Johannesburg.

Ex-officio members include representatives of funders, Chalmers as host of the Centre and the Directors of the Local Interaction Platforms:

Johan Edman, Mistra (Funder)
Mattias Goksör, University of Gothenburg (Chair Consortium Council)
Fredrik Nilsson, Chalmers (Host)
David Simon, Director, Mistra Urban Futures
Nayoka Martinez-Bäckström, Sida (Funder)

Local Interaction Platform Directors:

Stephen G Agong, Kisumu
Margareta Forsberg, Gothenburg
Beth Perry, Sheffield Manchester
Warren Smit, Cape Town
Barry Ness, Skåne


Viveka Blomgren, Head of Administration, Mistra Urban Futures

Board 2018
Photo by Henrik Sandsjö

From left: Carl Mossberg, David Simon, Lyla Mehta, John Robinson, Anna Johansson and Caroline Kihato. Missing: Olivia Bina, Benjamin Bradlow and Thomas Elmqvist.

Minutes Board meetings

Here you can download minutes from the board meetings from 2014 and onwards.


  • Minutes Board meeting No 28, 3 May 2018
  • Minutes Board meeting No 26, 16 November 2017
  • Minutes Board meeting No 25, 13 September 2017
  • Minutes Board meeting No 24, 13 June 2017
  • Minutes Board meeting No 23, 9-10 March 2017